Fashion & Style

Lace Cape Shrug

How to make a simple Cape Shrug

This is a super easy pattern for a very handy Capelet, Shrug or Poncho. I found this black stretch lace with a ‘ribbon type’ selvedge a couple of weeks ago…. perfect!  No paper pattern needed ….  just a tape measure!   The full width of the fabric is 140cm and I bought 60cm ( at $9 per metre ….that’s a very inexpensive addition to my wardrobe )

IMG_3923.jpg

First step was to finish the fabric edge, top and bottom. Sometimes I just do a rolled hem on the overlocker but for this shrug I turned the edge over once, then again and machine stitched in place.

I then folded the ‘scarf like’ length almost in half … I like to offset the front  and back a little as the next photo shows

IMG_3922.jpg

For the neck line …measure approx. 40cm ( 16″ ) from the fold.    Join the top edge for 10cm (4″ ) to form the left shoulder.  I have added 3 buttons to finish this side.

Voila! … the Capulet Shrug is finished, ready to wear at a jaunty angle allowing soft folds to form on the right shoulder and draped neckline.

IMG_3921.jpg

 

This pattern really works best in soft fabrics that have some stretch to them …. as with this fine wool knit where I have added extra detail with a front pleat and buttons

IMG_3924.jpg

You can adjust the length and width of fabric to suit you. I am 5’6″ tall and medium build. You can also experiment with a long scarf to get a similar effect and simply pin at the shoulder. Create and wear with flair, and you will add glam and elegance to your style!

You may like to see a fuller Poncho Cape Wrap that I have in my Garnetfleuri Etsy shop

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

